home >  categories >  flowers >  colin stevens design >  reviews

Colin Stevens Design

Services:

Flowers

Lake Forest, CA 92630
 
Overall Rating
3.2 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
3.2/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.3/5.0
Professionalism:
3.1/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.3/5.0
Flexibility:
3.3/5.0
 
10 Total Reviews
 
Jennie
Wedding: 11/8/14
0.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
0.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
0.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
0.0/5.0
Flexibility:
0.0/5.0
DO NOT use this guy! (Also known as Joseph-Rafael, LLC) I met this "vendor" at a bridal expo in Anaheim. My fiancé, mother, and I then set an appointment and were extremely impressed. So impressed that we hired him on the spot. We had a few emails back and forth between my husband, we signed the contract and paid in full. As far as I knew we were all set and expected my flowers would be ready on my wedding day earlier this month. However, on my wedding day when an email was ignored and my bouquets did not show up to my hotel when they were supposed to I called my venue to see if the rest of the flowers were delivered. My on site coordinator called the "florist" and was told that he "didn't have a client tonight" and was hung up on. I tried calling multiple times the next morning (and tried every possible number I could find online) with no answer. I was leaving for my honeymoon that afternoon so I settled for an email - after about a four days I finally received a response. He blamed his assistant for filing it in 2015, apologized, and promised to send me a check to refund my full payment. However, two weeks later I have returned from my honeymoon without hearing another word from him. While I was gone my mother found multiple Facebook pages, Instagram, and Twitter accounts for him under different names including a failed business prior to Joseph Rafael - not sure if he is a scam artist because his books were quite impressive BUT I suppose pictures are easy to steal. I plan on making sure this never happens again! It's stressful enough for a bride, she shouldn't have to worry about someone showing up when a signed contract is involved.
Amanda
Wedding: 4/5/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Colin was an absolute JOY to work with. His designs are AMAZING, just pure works of ART! I met Colin at the OC Bridal show and loved his work. We set up a meeting and I showed him what I was thinking of and how I did not want Roses for my bouquet. He was very understanding and accommodating. The day of the wedding, my mouth dropped when I saw my bouquet! It was the most beautiful arrangement of flowers I'd ever seen! They are still in my fridge at the moment because I can't bring myself to throw it away! But not just my bouquet was beautiful, all the corsages, boutonnieres, bridesmaid bouquets and ceremony sprays were EXACTLY what I wanted. I couldn't have asked for anything more! His pricing is also very reasonable for the incredible amount of work he does. If you want amazing flowers, Colin will make it happen!
LP
Wedding: 3/23/13
2.1 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
2.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
3.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
3.0/5.0
Flexibility:
2.0/5.0
5/7/14 check yelp.com 6/11/13 i was on a tight budget, and the flowers i received were beautiful; however, the journey to that point was pretty stressful. i met colin through a bridal show. i asked him for a quote. it came in 60% higher than another vendor i was considering. he asked to see the other vendor's quote; he magically matched it. but, there were several catches (i should have known since if something sounds too good to be true it probably is....). the centerpieces were a lot smaller and less lush; he matched the quote by decreasing the number of flowers in each arrangement (lesson - when you get a quote make sure that the quantity of flowers is written out!). second, he didn't stay, as promised, to move the flowers from the ceremony site to the reception room. so, i didn't get any photos of our reception room since the tables were incomplete (we used some of the centerpieces at the ceremony site). the sample meetings were awful. the 1st sample meeting - flowers were dead, not the right colors or blooms, and not as lush as discussed 2nd sample meeting - flowers were fresh, but again it required a lot of tweaking and bargaining for more stems to make it more lush. thank god for my day of coordinator. she knew how to push to make it right. also, he flaked on the 1st sample meeting date; he had a lame excuse, and i think he just forgot.... or something more "fun" came on my meeting date, and since i was a "small potatoes" job for him he cancelled on me 1 hr before our meeting. this was really disappointed as i took time off of work, and i also had reserved the time w/my day of coordinator as well. i am not sure if i'd do business w/him again. i understand that with every benefit is a burden. but in this case the burdens were too great especially when planning such a special event like a wedding. if on a budget find another vendor that has lower overhead and is starting out. they will probably be more accommodating and willing to work...
Sarah
Wedding: 1/12/13
0.1 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
0.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
0.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
0.0/5.0
Flexibility:
0.0/5.0
We met Colin at a bridal show in Anaheim in 2012. We liked his set up and made an appointment with him. We met in a hotel since his home office was inconvenient for me. I was impressed with his ideas and combinations. We had boxes for our centerpiece that he suggested putting a flower base under-he even drew pictures. We decided to sign the contract with him. Once he received our deposit, it was very difficult to get in ahold of him again. In September, I needed insurance information from him. He never responded. Finally, I had my fiance deal with him. Colin called him back and said that he sent all the paperwork to me months ago. But when asked if we could get a copy, he sent someone else's paperwork. Then he told us that he didn't have it. We had our preview in October and despite giving him the centerpiece box dimensions (they were rectangular) in April, he made them round. Additionally, the flowers that he used for our preview were over a week old. Not a huge deal, but it wasn't putting his best foot forward. At the preview we asked him to put in less blue hydrangeas and add more of the purple and white flowers. When he sent the final receipt that listed his set up time and our ceremony time, I got worried even more. He listed our ceremony time as 2 and our set up at 4. Completly the opposite. The day of the wedding he showed up around 2:45. The arch decoration was sparse compared to what we talked about and the picture he drew. The centerpiece boxes hardly had any purple in it and was more blue hydrangeas (that we didn't want) than anything. To top it off, part of our arch decoration was supposed to be moved to our sweetheart table for the reception. I had asked him at the preview who did that. He said that he stays to move it. When we got to the reception our flowers were still on the arch. He didn't stay to move it. I would avoid him at all costs. He is a liar and very hard to get ahold of. We paid alot for what amounted to very little. Avoid the headache.
elsa
Wedding: 11/2/12
0.3 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
0.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
0.0/5.0
Professionalism:
0.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
0.0/5.0
Flexibility:
1.0/5.0
We met Colin in Anaheim 2011 bridal show he was very sweet so we set an appt. with him. Our 1st. Appt. was in a hotel in Anaheim were we discussed our floral arrangement and he made some great suggestions Dark red tulips and black calla lilies with curly willow on a cone vase and 2 black box stands for our sweetheart table, we were impressed so we booked him. So finally the date for our floral sample was near and I had to be the one to remind him we need to set a date for this and I had to email him more than once every time in order to get a response, fine the sample date was set but this time he had a new place in Laguna hills. We drive up there and for nothing because he had the wrong floral sample including the vase he had roses and a round vase and he didn’t have the courtesy to inform us, before we drove all the way over there that he had the incorrect sample to show, but I still wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt. So we informed him we had an appointment the following week at our venue and Colin asked if he could meet us there and he would bring us the correct floral sample so we agreed. But once again he had the incorrect floral sample HE FORGOT THE BLACK CALLA LILIES and the funny thing was when we informed him, he said he didn’t remember we ordered them I then told him YOU ARE THE ONE THAT SUGGESTED THEM and you even drew us a picture of the arrangement. I knew then to expect him to disappoint us on our wedding day and HE SURE DID our center pieces were as if he just put more curly willow than the black calla lilies or dark red tulips. And he didn’t include the black box stands that were in our agreement and we paid for, and he never informed us why he didn’t include them or give us a refund but that’s ok because businesses like this run on word of mouth and thanks to this I can let other brides know WHAT AN UNPROFESSIONAL PERSON HE IS.
Sandra
Wedding: 8/11/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
At the early stages of our wedding planning, my cousin and her fiancee along with myself and my husband, attended a Bridal Expo in Anaheim. We were very excited to start all the wedding planning and meet all the vendors. We hadn't actually met Colin that day cause he was busy with another couple, however his displays and all his pictures really caught my eye and we scheduled an appointment to meet with him. During our appointment with Colin, I was very pleased at everything he presented to us and all the details we went over. I could see the passion he has for what he does and I knew he would be our florist on our wedding day. All our flowers, from my bouquet, the church flowers, my bridesmaids bouquets, the centerpieces and the flowers on our cake were amazing!!! Everything was beautiful! Thank you Colin for making our day amazing! I can't wait to see your beautiful work again in November for my cousins wedding :)
Diana
Wedding: 11/11/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
When I started planning our wedding in June of 2011 I had not idea where to start. Colin was so friendly and helpful on the phone and we agreed to meet to discuss my wedding flowers. The second I met him I knew he would be my wedding florist. He helped give me a direction for my wedding and knew exactly what I wanted without me telling him. Once we decided on the flowers, I had a clear theme and direction for my wedding. Everything fell into place after that. Colin was professional and provided me with a detailed invoice that gave me piece of mind. Before the wedding he had me come to his home for a floral preview. He had a beautiful table arrangement prepared for me that I even got to keep. It brightened up our home in the stressful weeks leading up to the wedding. Colin was early for our ceremony and even came to my hotel room to show me my bouquet. It took my breath away! He decorated the aisle beautifully and people were raving about the archway flowers, not to mention the table flowers. Each table had 3 beautiful arrangements that really showed his eye for design and creativity. People are still talking about his flowers. I would recommend Colin Stevens to any bride, or even someone hosting a social event in need of flowers. He is genuine, creative, and professional. Thank you Colin for making our wedding so beautiful!
The Jones'
Wedding: 10/15/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Colin and I met at the Sheraton Anaheim bridal show in 2010. The moment I saw Colins awe-inspiring floral displays and we engaged in conversation, with his graciousness and professionalism I knew I wanted Colin and his amazing designs at my wedding! Colin and I had an in depth consultation to discuss the floral design I was looking for at my yacht wedding. Colin was organized, detailed and thorough. He was always available to answer any questions I had along the way. The floral design the day of the wedding was absolutely breathtaking!!! Colins design was beyond what I had envisioned. Perfect! Colin has an amazing talet for floral and incredible eye for design. My guests were so impressed with Colins creations, many said they had never seen anything so beautiful. Colin was an extremely large part in making my wedding everything I had always dreamed it would be! I am forever grateful to have met Colin and been able to have him design my wedding.
Private User
Wedding: 10/10/10
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Our venue isn't exactly breathtaking, but Colin made it look so beautiful with his floral designs. I almost cried when I saw the ceremony and reception areas at the morning of our wedding. Colin completely transformed our venue into the perfect romantic rustic setting for our wedding. He's not just a florist. He's a designer. At our initial meeting, I described what I wanted and he sketched 3 centerpiece ideas on the spot for us. He was also willing to work with us within our budget and made suggestions on how to save money. To this day people still talk about how my bouquet was one of a kind!
Cindy
Wedding: 11/8/08
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married in November 2008. We initially contracted with Colin to do our flowers because his work is amazing. About two months before our wedding our planner dropped out, and Colin stepped up at a level we could have never imagined. Not only did he create a magical floral setting, he also coordinated a wedding beyond our wildest dreams. He was available to me whenever I needed him, kept me apprised of how things were progressing, and supported me as the ceremony neared and my stress level rose. The day of the ceremony, he and his staff allowed me to relax, and enjoy the journey. I am forever grateful to Colin for giving me the wedding of my dreams.
 
 
Find Colin Stevens Design reviews from newlyweds in Orange County that used Colin Stevens Design for Flowers services.